Appropriate backup strategy and workflow with BTRFS storage backends?

Hi there,

im quite new to LXD/LXC and still learning a lot, but I somehow have a feeling of „getting there“ :slight_smile:
Still, what I haven’t figured out is, how an appropriate backup strategy and workflow would look like. I have read the Docs (Backing up a LXD server - LXD - system container manager), some posts in this forum and e.g. this howto (How to backup and restore LXD containers).
My takeaway is that it comes down to just creating tarball of each instance and storing that away (lxc export & lxc storage volume export). But as I’m using BTRFS everywhere (also for the backup location which currently is an external HDD) I don’t like this solution very much. I was hoping to make use of BTRFS’ features like send/receive as each instance already is a BTRFS subvolume.
So basically I have the following questions on my mind, where I have not been able to find an answer yet:

• Is it possible to send/receive an instance-subvolume (i.e. an previously created read-only snapshot of it of course) to an external HDD BTRFS volume and in case of failure importing it back?
  • In this scenario: How to deal with the LXD created snapshots of the instances?
  • Basically the same previous two questions appliy for custom storage volumes, but I expect this to work identical as with instances
  • How to backup the profiles, networking etc? (I.e. everything else that is needed to run the snapshotted instances)
  • How would I backup LXD itself to be able to be restored (and the snapshotted instances) e.g. in case the SSD containing the root filesystem and also LXD fails completely? Is it enough to just save „lxd init --dump“ and preseed that to a an init of a freshly installed lxd?