Best pulseaudio setup for LXD container with full desktop GPU (Nvidia) support

It is been a few days since I converted my lxc+nvidia+desktop support to lxd.
I have ubuntu 20.04 desktop/server with gdm running on tty1 and tty2. Archlinux desktop container running simultaneously on tty8 and tty7. gdm is on tty8 and the gnome desktop is in tty7(it is actually variable it can be on any of the tty3-tty7. The two gdm managers seem to respect each other territory). Everything seems to work, except for pulseaudio. Using the pulseaudio proxy that was suggested on multiple posts does not work. I think because of dependence on dbus/gnome. It does not work because the container has its own desktop and does not share the host desktop.

Mounting the host /dev/dsp is working but not consistently. I have to kill and restart pulseaudio in the container and host multiple time, until it does work. I am not an expert on gnome/dbus/pulseaudio interaction. I think it is because of access to the sound devices.
Any ideas how to have a more consistent pulseaudio support.

Why doesn’t the PulseAudio proxy device work?

I am not an expert on pulseaudio, but I think it is tied up to the local dbus (it seems like that when doing strace). For example (not excatly like my issue). if I remote login to a container (As in your example in [https://blog.simos.info/running-x11-software-in-lxd-containers/](http://Running X11 software in LXD containers) The proxy audio does not work (on the guest or the host). It is only working when you run the guest container in the desktop of the host.

In my situation (a separate guest desktop) I noticed that the guest container ignores the PULSE_SERVER and it uses the local /run/user/1000/pulse directory. This is why I had to mount /dev/dsp. This is probably causing conflicting access issues.