I'd like to develop a feature for LXC! Advice/suggestions are welcome

Hello,

I’m a student studying Computer Science at the University of Texas at Austin in the United States and I would like to code a feature for LXC. I have taken two Computer Architecture courses as well as an Operating Systems course, and am currently in a Virtualization course so I have a decent grasp of the C language and systems concepts. I have used LXC in a beginners context as well, but I have good familiarity with Linux operating systems (Ubuntu/Debian in particular). I am however very new to the Open Source scene, and have never contributed to any projects before.

I have already glanced through the Issues tab on GitHub, and filtered even further into people who have feature requests. I have glanced through a couple that I feel like I might be able to accomplish, but I am unsure of the level of involvement or difficulty associated with them all, as well as if by chance they have already been implemented and the issue is stale.

Any advice or suggestions on how a feature, or how I would get started/up to speed with the code ASAP would be appreciated. I look forward to your replies!

Regards,
Austin Reichert

I suppose you can start with a small and easy feature request (from the github Issues) and implement it as a way to familiarize yourself with the process. It would be equally good if you find a new feature that you would like to have, implement it and make a pull request.

The github Issues list is the definitive place to discuss and ask questions on specific features. I do not think that there would be work done without some mention in the corresponding issue. If you have a question on a specific feature, you can ask in that issue report.

Other than that, @stgraber and @brauner can also help.

What were the issues you found suitable? If you point them out to me I can give you an estimate of how much work it would be. :slight_smile: