Isolated containers and haproxy

I’m new to containers and I’m trying to set this up in my home lab as a test for future projects. I’ve been digging via google and several searches in the forums for a situation that is similar to what i’m looking to accomplish. I can’t seem to wrap my head around what I need to do in order to get this going. I have 1 Ubuntu18 Host and I want to run containers inside that host.

Here’s a very simple diagram of my setup.

WAN / Firewall
–Host (LAN) device id: [ens160]
----C1 (HAProxy & SSH)
----C2 (Apache & SSH)
----C3 (Apache & SSH)

I want all of the containers to have regular outgoing internet access via my host (NAT MASQ).
I want to forward incoming host ports 80 and 443 to C1.
I want C1 to have full connectivity to C2 & C3 for HAProxy to connect to their services.
I do not want C2 & C3 to be able talk to each other at all. No network communication at all.
I do not want any of my containers to be able to talk to anything on the host network (LAN).
I want to give SSH access to each container from C1 and possibly from the internet on different ports.

My host has 1 network card behind an existing firewall. I plan to forward whatever ports needed for this from my firewall to the host. I’ve played around with the bridging, macvlan, and several of the network types. I can’t seem to get this right. I want to isolate each container so the only thing the container can talk to is C1.

Is this out of scope for LXD? Would docker make a better fit for this? From what I’ve read if you are using ssh inside your containers docker isn’t a good fit as a solution.

Any help is appreciated.

Maybe you could wait until LXD 3.19 is out (IIRC it was supposed to be available at end of last year so it should not be a too long wait) and try the new ‘routed’ nictype ? It looks a bit like your use case, maybe @tomp could comment on this idea ?

I use shorewall to manage the network access between containers/host/internet.