LXC on Debian 11 - no IPv4 in containers

I am a LXC newbie and working on a project to configure LXC-hosts with ansible.

I have a working configuration to deploy a Debian 10.9 host and several containers, I use the debops-project ( https://docs.debops.org/en/master/ ) to define all the config.

Now the wish is to also test and prepare a deployment to Debian 11.x, as far as I learned this also leads to LXC-4 and the use of cgroups v2?

I try to adjust my setup to make things work, with a small ajdustment to the system capabilities I was able to create containers. I can attach to them, but they don’t get any IP-adresses via DHCP.

The customer would prefer to get a “modern” setup with cgroups v2 etc / so I would like not to disable cgroups v2, if possible.

Are there any documented differences in configuration? I also have apparmor set to “unconfined”, for example, but to me it seems quite obvious I miss something.

Addition: I already tested to lxc-create containers on the host itself, without any ansible. Same result.

Thanks for any pointers on this. For sure I will provide more logs etc if necessary.

EDIT: the container hang at “Raise network interfaces” at start, the NIC comes up, but without IP, route, DNS. bridge lxcbr0 on host is UP.

some infos:

# ss -ulpn
State                   Recv-Q                  Send-Q                                    Local Address:Port                                   Peer Address:Port                 Process                                             
UNCONN                  0                       0                                              10.0.3.1:53                                          0.0.0.0:*                     users:(("dnsmasq",pid=646,fd=6))                   
UNCONN                  0                       0                                             127.0.0.1:53                                          0.0.0.0:*                     users:(("dnsmasq",pid=627,fd=4))