Script for backing up LXD containers

I’ve been trying to establish a container backup routine and arrived at the script below. I’m posting it here in the event others find it useful, but I’m really curious what others think about my approach, given that I am very new to LXD containers. Also, I’m not particularly skilled at writing code, but by stealing code snippets from multiple places I think I have something that works well.

Assumptions:

• Production server (lxd_source) is an LXD server using btrfs and configured to allow remote connections
  • Backup server (lxd_target) is an LXD server using btrfs and configured to connect remotely to lxd_source
#!/bin/bash

umask 027

LXC=/usr/bin/lxc
GREP=/bin/grep
AWK=/usr/bin/awk
DATE=/bin/date
RSYNC=/usr/bin/rsync

# List of containers on lxd_source.
s_containers=`$LXC list lxd_source: -c ns --format csv | $GREP RUNNING | $AWK -F"," '{print $1}'`

# Functions
lecho () {
   logger "lxdbackup: $@"
   echo "$@"
}

#--------------------------------------
# Backup
#--------------------------------------

# For each running container on lxd_source:
#   1) Create a snapshot on lxd_source called 'current'.
#   2) If the container does not exist on lxd_target, copy the container to lxd_target, and we're done with that container.
#   3) If the container does exist on lxd_target, rsync the lxd_source snapshot to the lxd_target container.
for container in $s_containers; do
	# Note that awk on the next line is used to strip new line characters, which appear to exist and break the '-z' test.
	# If a snapshot called "current" exists for the container on lxd_source, then delete it from lxd_source.
	if [ ! -z `$LXC info lxd_source:$container | $GREP 'current (taken at' | $AWK '{print $1}'` ]; then
		lecho "Attempting to delete snapshot '$container/current' on lxd_source . . ."
		if $LXC delete lxd_source:$container/current ; then
			lecho "   Success -- deleted snapshot"
		else
			lecho "   FAILED to delete snapshot"