Student feature developement

Hi all!

I’m an undergraduate student at the University of Texas in Austin and myself along with a few other similarly experienced students want to develop a feature for lxd for a CS course on Virtualization. All of us have taken an undergraduate Operating Systems course previous to this. Our Virtualization class has focused on discussing how Virtual Machines and Containers are implemented and the mindsets behind each. We are looking for a project that would be reasonable to (mostly) complete in approximately one month of semester level time commitment. If anyone has any advice or project ideas, it would be greatly appreciated!!!

Thanks,
Kathryn Baldauf

Edited the e-mail address out of the post to limit the risks of getting spammed by random bots.

Hi,

Thanks for your interest in LXD!

I’ve got a few candidates in mind that may work for this kind of time commitment.
I’m going to do a bit of cleanup on the relevant Github issues to make the work involved clearer and will post links here.

You mention that you’re looking for about a month of involvement but when would that be?

Most of the work I can think of would have to be done by end of year or end of January at the latest, is that something that’d work for you or should I be looking at feature work that we’re not committed to shipping in LXD 3.0?

Stéphane

The first feature is one that one of your classmates(?) reached out about separately.

That particular issue is very tricky as it requires some API changes and integrates with our storage and migration code, both of which are very complex and have a lot of corner cases.

@brauner may be able to give you a better idea of the complexity there. My understanding is that we have all the right low level pieces already but some refactoring would likely be needed to allow them to be re-used against an existing container.

Another one is one of my favorite pending feature requests: