A general question about containers technology

Hello,
I’m a student and I want to know something about the current container technology.
Excuse me, I don’t know here is a right place or not.
1- Is it true that containers technology have difference with Virtualization? What is their difference?
2- Is it true that the containers that made with container program must have a same OS that host have? On Linux host you can just have Linux containers.
3- What is the advantages and disadvantages of current containers technology?

I’m thankful if anyone answer me.

Thank you.

Yes, that’s the point of containers, they are kernel level process isolation, so all containers share the same kernel. This means no need for any virtualization extension and the overhead that comes with it, you can run tens of thousands of containers on one system when you could only run maybe hundreds of VMs.

Thank you for your reply but how about questions 2 and 3?
Virtualization is useless!!!
With Docker can the OS limit solved? Have Windows container on Linux or vice versa.

You can run different OSes inside the container than the host, but they still share the same kernel.

This means you can run different linux distributions, but you must still run linux.

In LXC and LXD there are system containers, which is one of the many types of containers. Another type is Docker, which is application containers.

A system container is like a virtual machine, but unlike a virtual machine it does not require hardware features from the CPU to perform the virtualization. In addition, a system container reuses your current running Linux kernel. Hence, you may be running Ubuntu on your host, and system containers for Ubuntu, Centos, AlpineLinux. All container will be running the runtime for the respective Linux distribution, but the kernel is the very same Ubuntu kernel that is running on the host.