Additional group membership ignored?

I’m rather new to LXC and currently running LXC 5.0.3 on a host with a few running unprivileged containers started with lxc-execute as different users, and no idmaps. I want them to be unprivileged as I have no need for root privileges for anything.

One of the containers creates a UNIX socket with particular user:group permissions. Another container host another program that needs aforementioned UNIX socket. On the users are members of respective groups to grant access to the UNIX sockets, and it works on the host, but not in a container where they are denied by OS (Permission denied). If i manually chmod the UNIX socket files 666 after creation, the containers are allowed to use then with no problems.

This led me to believe additional group memberships are reset/dropped when creating a LXC container.

Is this true or am I missing something obvious?

I’d check the output of id in the connecting container against the uid/gid values of stat /path/to/socket in the target container.

/usr/bin/id from connecting container

uid=237(rspamd) gid=237(rspamd) groups=237(rspamd)

/usr/bin/stat /run/redis/redis-server.sock on target running container.

~ # lxc-attach -n redis -- /usr/bin/stat /run/redis/redis-server.sock
  File: /run/redis/redis-server.sock
  Size: 0         	Blocks: 0          IO Block: 4096   socket
Device: 0,20	Inode: 2786        Links: 1
Access: (0770/srwxrwx---)  Uid: (   75/   redis)   Gid: (   75/   redis)
Access: 2024-01-21 07:37:25.111451951 +0100
Modify: 2024-01-21 07:37:25.111451951 +0100
Change: 2024-01-21 07:37:25.111451951 +0100
 Birth: 2024-01-21 07:37:25.111451951 +0100

Right so the connecting user isn’t a member of group 75 which would explain why it can’t access the socket.

According to both the host and containers files, it should be a member

~ # cat /etc/group | grep redis
redis:x:75:rspamd
~ # cat /chroot/rspamd/etc/group | grep redis
~ # cat /chroot/redis/etc/group | grep redis