Backup/Copy Strateygy

I am a relatively new admin of an LXD environment where I built several Drupal/MariaDB systems. Two simple ubuntu containers: a basic web server and database .

I’m trying to protect myself from disaster or human error by nightly (sure, sure, more likely weekly if this is manual) backups.

I have two servers that are nearly identical and only host the LXD containers. Prime = hp-elitedesk-20 while the Backup is hp-elitedesk-23

My caveman style hammer method now is this:

On the prime machine (20):

lxc project switch bucks
lxc ls
lxc stop mariadb-bc
lxc stop drupal-bc
lxc snapshot mariadb-bc   Bucks_2023_03_02
lxc snapshot drupal-bc      Bucks_2023_03_02
lxc start mariadb-bc
lxc start drupal-bc
lxc ls
# lxc exec mariadb-bc -- /bin/bash
# lxc exec drupal-bc -- /bin/bash
# 20 to → 23
lxc copy   mariadb-bc/Bucks_2023_03_02   --target-project bucks     hp-elitedesk-23:mariadb-bc
lxc copy   drupal-bc/Bucks_2023_03_02      --target-project bucks     hp-elitedesk-23:drupal-bc

Now I have noticed that if the containers already exist on the backup (23) then the copy fails so I am doing a pre-step on the backup where I

lxc project switch bucks
lxc stop mariadb-bc
lxc stop drupal-bc
lxc delete mariadb-bc
lxc delete drupal-bc

So my first question, is this a particularly bad method to avoid? Is there a better method?

Second, is there a way for me to copy the prime snapshot to the backup machine without deleting it from the backup first? Maybe copy the snapshot on the prime to a snapshot on the backup? Does this make sense? I might not be using the best language to convey the question.

Thanks for any help!

Hi @HeneryH,

the --refresh flag is what you may are for (even for the first copy).

--refresh              Perform an incremental copy