Beginners question about nat table entry in iptables

Hi there

I am a long term linux desktop user but I am not very technical.

I have in the past also set up and run a couple of VPSs to handle personal email, wordpress and nextcoud. Recently I have been introduced to LXD and it offers the potential to manage these kinds of services through one vps using containers. So I have set up a VPS and installed LXD 4.0.1 I have created two containers, one running nginx and one running my mailserver.

I am very new to this type of configuration, for example I had never used nginx or iptables before the last couple of weeks but with the help of one contributor to a forum and other forum posts I am making some progress.

I have used IP Tables to set up a nat configuration as follows
iptables -t nat -A PREROUTING -d /32 -i eth0 -p tcp -m multiport --dports 80,443 -m comment --comment NGINX -j DNAT --to-destination 10.133.231.106
iptables -t nat -A PREROUTING -d /32 -i eth0 -p tcp -m multiport --dports 25,143,993,587,465,4190 -m comment --comment MAIL -j DNAT --to-destination 10.133.231.181

I have configured nginx as a reverse proxy to handle port 80 and 443 traffic for my mailserver to be routed to my mailserver, which I can see is receiving this traffic.

However I am confused about whether I need to set up post-routing entries in the nat table with Iptables and whether there are other obvious things that I should be exploring.

My immediate question is what post routing commands do I need in iptables and what would be the appropriate syntax.

Thanks in advance for any help you can give.

Hi!

You can use iptables rules, or you can use LXD proxy devices instead.
Personally, I would recommend LXD proxy devices because

1. you avoid iptables
  2. you do not need to figure out a mechanism to save them and apply after reboot
  3. the LXD proxy device is bound to the container, so no need to remember IP addresses.