Cannot create image from container - read only snapshot

I’m new to LXD and really loving it. I’m working on a backup script that will create images of containers, export them, and scp them to a different server. My testing was working fine and then trying to publish a snapshot to an image for a particular container failed, and I can’t get past it.

I’m using Ubuntu 18.04 with btrfs. I’m basically doing the following:

$ lxc publish mycontainer/current --alias mycontainer-image

and I’m getting this:

Error: Failed to change ownership of: /var/lib/lxd/storage-pools/default/snapshots/mycontainer/current/rootfs

and /var/log/syslog shows this:

Jan 29 12:33:46 hydride lxd[1701]: Failed chown: Read-only file system
Jan 29 12:33:46 hydride lxd[1701]: t=2019-01-29T12:33:46-0500 lvl=eror msg=“Failed exporting container” created=2019-01-29T12:33:39-0500 ephemeral=false name=mycontainer/current used=1969-12-31T19:00:00-0500

This seems to be happening with any container that has a “current.ro” directory in /var/lib/lxd/storage-pools/default/snapshots/mycontainer

This has been a real show stopper, so any help would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks.
John

So I renamed the snapshot directory from ‘current.ro’ to current.ro_old’ and I’m now able to do everything I need to do. I’m new to both LXD and btrfs, so if anyone could shed a little like on the predicament I would really appreciate it.

Thanks.
John

That’s a good catch and I am trying to figure out a way to reproduce it.
Here is what I do (unsuccessfully):

lxc launch images:alpine/edge alpine
lxc exec alpine -- mkdir current.ro
lxc snapshot alpine current
lxc publish alpine/current --alias mycontainer

and it works fine for me.

Can you try to get a set of reproducible steps (ideally with alpine, otherwise with Ubuntu)?