Cannot create instance type virtual machine

Hi there,

I’m pretty new to LXD. I try to learn something new aside Virtual Box and others, so I came across this awesome project. However, I installed a fresh new Manjaro Linux and installed LXD. Everything is working really smoothly (awesome!), but one thing does not work, which I can’t explain myself.

For instance, when I try to create a virtual machine, I get this output:

> lxc launch images:debian/10 felix --vm
Error: Failed instance creation: Failed creating instance record: Instance type "virtual-machine" is not supported on this server

I already searched the web, however, I did not find any explanation or a starting point where to look for. Can anyone provide me a hint what could be the matter of this message?

Many thanks in advance, regards, Thomas

Hi,

This is a fairly recent addition to LXD, we now check whether the “machine” you’re trying to launch a VM on supports virtualisation. We check that the path /dev/kvm exists and that the vhost_vsock kernel module can be loaded. If either of these two fail then we prevent creation of VMs.

In your case as you are running inside a VirtualBox VM you need to ensure that your Vbox VM has nested virtualisation enabled in order for the /dev/kvm path to appear.

1 Like

Hi there,

thanks for the quick reply. There’s a misunderstanding, I do not try LXD within a VirtualBox machine, I try to get it running on a direct Linux installation onto my Laptop. So, the type is not nested. :slight_smile:

/dev/kvm is present:

> sudo lsmod | sort | grep kvm
kvm                   921600  1 kvm_intel
kvm_intel             323584  0

However, I tried to find vhost_vsock.ko but the module seems not to be present on Manjaro 5.10.49-1.

I’ll try to figure out why it is not there and if I can get the module installed and loaded.

Thanks for pointing me. Any additional hint is welcome. Regards, Thomas