Cannot start lxc copied from snapshot, CPU usage raised to 100%

Hi all,

I did the following

lxc snapshot AAA clean-snapshot
lxc copy AAA/clean-snapshot BBB
lxc start BBB

And it is hanging there, with CPU utilization raised to 100 % for kworker process. The container BBB is in ERROR state.

It happens quite often.

I can start the container after a host reboot, which is OK for now as I’m just learning LXD. However this is not desirable if I need to put it in production environment.

I am using Ubuntu bionic and latest version of LXD with all the patches applied.

What information I should gather to solve the problem?
Would anyone help me by giving me some insight to solve it?
I searched the net and I got lost…

Whenever you get a container in an error state, you have a valuable case to debug so that it get possible to figure out what went wrong and report it to get it fixed.

If you can figure out the steps to bring a container in an error state is even more valuable. It is equally fine, for example, if you can figure out that if you do those X steps, you get the error state in 1 out of 20 repetitions.

There are some standard commands to retrieve info from the problematic containers. I am on mobile now and cannot locate them. Perhaps someone else can help.

Is the LXD host a VPS or bare metal? If the former it might be due to high levels of overcommitment (especially memory overcommitment) or other virtualization overheads, depending on number of CPU (cores/specs) mostly and/or the hypervisor (type/settings) underlying the LXD host.

The LXD host is a bare metal. It is a HP PC 6200 Pro MT PC with 8G ram and Intel® Core™ i7-2600 CPU @ 3.40GHz.

Thanks Simon

I created a bridge interface on host and customized a profile for containers so that they can access the same network. In my previous post, container AAA was indeed stopped before I took the snapshot.