Can't open camera by index on LXC container

Hi, I am new to LXC/LXD containers and I can’t access the webcam.

I am running Ubuntu 18.04 on the host and Ubuntu 20.04 inside LXC container. My goal is to run ROS2 (which requires Ubuntu 20.04) inside an LXC container, then use it to connect to two dynamixel servo motors and a USB Logitech webcam. I have also installed miniconda inside the container so that I can install OpenCV and dlib. I am also using conda virtual environment inside the container.

All the mentioned software works fine. Now I need to access the webcam with OpenCV using a code I use everyday on my host machine, but inside the container I always get this error:

[ WARN:0] global ../modules/videoio/src/cap_v4l.cpp (893) open VIDEOIO(V4L2:/dev/video0): can't open camera by index
Traceback (most recent call last):
  File "gaze_example.py", line 17, in <module>
    gaze.refresh(frame)
  File "/home/ubuntu/dev_ws/src/py_pubsub/py_pubsub/gaze_tracking/gaze_tracking.py", line 63, in refresh
    self._analyze()
  File "/home/ubuntu/dev_ws/src/py_pubsub/py_pubsub/gaze_tracking/gaze_tracking.py", line 44, in _analyze
    frame = cv2.cvtColor(self.frame, cv2.COLOR_BGR2GRAY)
cv2.error: OpenCV(4.5.1) ../modules/imgproc/src/color.cpp:182: error: (-215:Assertion failed) !_src.empty() in function 'cvtColor'

I already tried lxc config device add rosfoxy video0 unix-char path=/dev/video0 with video0 , video1 and video2 and still getting the same error.

When this problem is fixed, I also would like to know how to access the servo motors USB interface from within the container.

Would you please advise what to do?

Thanks in advance.

Hi!

There are several ways to access resources from the host inside a container. These are listed at the Device types at https://linuxcontainers.org/lxd/docs/master/instances#device-types
The three main options are unix-char, unix-hotplug and usb.