Few questions regarding security.idmap.isolated and security.nesting

Hello, I’ve been using LXD for a few years now, mainly unprivileged containers.
I have been looking to use some unprivileged nested containers.
At the moment I have security.idmap.isolated: “true” set in the default profile for all of my containers. At /etc/subuid and /etc/subgid I have root:65536:9934465.

The problem is, I can not seem to get the nested containers to get different UIDs they all seem to share the parents containers UID.

Also when running lxd init for the first time in the nested container, I get the prompt of “Would you like to have your containers share their parent’s allocation?”
If I choose yes, the container seems to launch, but it does not appear that security.idmap.isolated true is taking an effect. This is also set in the default profile for the nested container. If I choose No, the containers refuse to even start. I get the error
“Error: Failed instance creation: Failed creating instance record: Failed initialising instance: Invalid config: No uid/gid allocation configured. In this mode, only privileged containers are supported”

I would not like to run privileged containers if I don’t have to. I am at a bit of a loss when trying to understanding this whole uid/gid mapping stuff.

Basically I am just trying to completely isolate the containers from eachother even when nesting. I’ve looked at various guides but none of them are using isolated idmap and are greatly confusing me.

I could really use some help with this. I tried using the tool “uidmapviz” but it does not want to compile at all.

Any help would be greatly appreciated.

security.idmap.isolated on your host means that each container will get a distinct 65536 (default) set of uid and gid.