FreeIPA Inside LXC Container

Has anyone been able to successfully get FreeIPA to work inside an LXC container? Currently the only way we’ve gotten it to work is setting the container to privileged mode which isn’t ideal.

Not a solution, but I have a Samba AD DC running in an LXD container. I could not start the samba-ad-dc service while the container was unprivileged. As soon as I switched to using a privileged container, everything worked perfectly. I asked about the initial failure on the Samba list without even mentioning that the container was unprivileged (at the time, I didn’t know this was an issue), and several people immediately responded “the LXD container must be privileged” . That would suggest this is a well known issue.

While it’s nice to have a clean security separation, when we’re talking about a container running directory services, which will afford very limited access to only trusted admins, it doesn’t seem like that much of a security issue to me. Containers affording ordinary user access are a different matter of course.

Whats the underlying issue?

Whats your container OS image?

In my experience to get freeipa server to work in a un privileged container you need to add --no-ntp flag to the install with needing to then run sed -i '2s#^#d /run/lock/dirsrv/ 0770 dirsrv dirsrv -\n#' /etc/tmpfiles.d/dirsrv-${ YOUR DIRECTORY REALM }.conf. The tmpfile’s need altering otherwise the ipa server wont start on the next startup of the container because the start up procedure wont have permissions to do something ( i dont remember what )

Centos8 is the base image. The problem with running non-privileged mode is that the when you try to login with IPA it can’t find your group to map it

Not sure what IPA does with your POSIX user within the OS, but it sounds strange to need this unless the IPA needs somehow access to the host UID:s (which itself is strange)…

Is this related to your LDAP setting and home-directories etc?