Google Season of Docs

Google Season of Docs (GSoD) is a program by Google that funds documentation work in free/open-source projects.

GSoD is similar to Google Summer of Code (GSoC) with the exception that there is no requirement to select university students.

GSoD has been going for the last several years. There should be an announcement soon, sometime in February and the first step is for organizations to apply to join.

I think it would be a good opportunity for Incus to take part in this year’s GSoD.

1 Like

The Google Season of Docs 2024 timeline has just been posted,

Organization application are accepted from: February 22, 2024 at 18:00 UTC

Deadline for organization applications: April 2, 2024 at 18:00 UTC

What part are you interested in? I am not a professional technical writer but I spend a lot of time doing it.

My uncle was, though.

We will need to see what are the needs of Incus.
People tend not to look through the traditional documentation and the priority is to figure out what would make the most significant impact to the project.

In addition, GSoD is quite competitive and they do not take in many organizations. The risk of rejection and not knowing what went wrong, is high. We would likely need to make it an open call.

Exploration phase

Although Google Season of Docs applications open February 22, 2024, we strongly suggest that organizations take the time to complete the steps in the Exploration phase before submitting their application.