Homelab with multiple types of devices with different network interface names? Help

Hi all,

First of all I’d like to say thanks to the LXC/LXD team, I started learning about it a few days ago and I absolutely love it.

I wanted to run a cluster on using my home devices, but I encountered an issue that I don’t know how to solve. It’s not a bug or anything, I’m just asking for help on how to do it.

I have a desktop machine, a laptop & 1 raspberry pi all running Ubuntu 20.04. When I ran lxd init on the desktop machine, I referenced the physical interface (called enp5s0) because I want to be able to access containers accross all my devices, and I created a cluster with all the machines I have.

The issue is, when I started creating containers, it was erroring out anytime a container got created on any machine other than the desktop, because the laptop & raspberry pi don’t have an interface called “enp5s0”, they have other interface names (eg: wlp61s0 for the laptop).

Now my question is, how can I solve this? Because I have no idea where to start!

Running LXD 4.21.
Any help is very appreciated, thanks!

Ah yeah, I suspect this setup a macvlan device for you with the parent set to enp5s0.

Can you show lxc profile show default ?

I suspect you could fix that with:

• lxc profile device remove default eth0
  • lxc network create default --type=macvlan parent=enp5s0 --target desktop
  • lxc network create default --type=macvlan parent=wlp61s0 --target laptop
  • lxc network create default --type=macvlan parent=eth0 --target rpi
  • lxc network create default
  • lxc profile device add default eth0 network=default name=eth0

Though I see another problem there, the wlp61s0 indicates your laptop is on wireless. You cannot bridge or use macvlan on Wifi as authentication is performed through the MAC addresses.