Host: Ubuntu 18.04, LXD 3.03: /etc/subuid is automatically and strangely populated?

This is my first attempt to use LXD on an Ubuntu host, and I’ve already run into a bit of strangeness perhaps someone can explain. On enabling the LXD service and creating an Ubuntu 15.04 container:

# systemctl enable lxd
# systemctl start lxd
$ lxc image copy ubuntu:15.04 local: --alias ubuntu15
$ lxc init ubuntu15 evocoupling

I noticed that /etc/subuid had already been populated with stuff it found /etc/passwd:

cnsit@tarantula:/etc$ cat /etc/subuid
cnsit:100000:65536
matanb:165536:65536
matanb:231072:65536
rmccool:296608:65536
lxd:362144:65536
root:362144:65536

This seems unnecessarily presumptuous. Most users of the system log in using an AD account, the local accounts are the administrative user (cnsit) and a couple of student assistants (matanb, rmccool) who have been assigned projects on this particular workstation. Oddly, matanb has 2 entries(??) and the assigned uid’s seem really random. Since the local accounts won’t even be using the container(s) on this machine, I’m unclear on why this automatic population of /etc/subuid is occurring. I’m still trying to puzzle through the authorization system, so am asking questions about things that don’t make sense to me.

This is automatically added when running useradd:

sudo useradd test
cat /etc/subuid
test:100000:65536

However, all those users were added long before the LXD service was turned on? So maybe the inclusion is not based on whether or the service is running? And I guess it’s not idempotent, as it’s possible I added the local user matanb twice, removing him the first time for reasons I don’t remember. Still very confused about how it’s choosing UIDs and why lxd and root are both in there as 362144, or why lxd needs an entry at all, for that matter.

Yeah, none of this is managed by LXD or caused by LXD at all.

It’s normal behavior for shadow (useradd, usermod) on modern systems at least on Ubuntu.