How to access webserver running in container from outside of my host?

probably a small networking matter

I run an application in a Container which is being accessed by users through a browser (port 80, served by nginx).
It works once I use the browser of my host using the containers IP (10.116.163.102) but doesn’t when I’m outside of the host machine.

host is a Virtual Box xubuntu 16.04 (bridged networking) (original post said NAT, sorry)
I can ping the hosts IP (172.20.14.233)
LXD 2.12

just guessing I’d come up with the idea that I might have to run some sort of
lxc network attach ... command?

The output of lxd network --help raises more question then answers unfortunately
total beginner here, so sorry if it’s a silly question. Can someone advise?

How is the networking setup on your VM in Virtual Box? Bridged or NAT’d. According to this page, NAT mode won’t allow VM with multiple MAC addresses to pass traffic (as in LXD with containers):

So, make sure your VM is set for bridged mode (not NAT).

BTW - VMWare has the same issue. The fix is to enable promiscuous mode on the vSwitch.

I have to admit that I don’t really get whether NAT or bridged works better.

however I don’t think that’s the root cause of my question … I can reach anything from within my container, so networking in general seems to be working from inside to the outside (I am actually on bridged Networking in the Virtualbox VM [sorry that was stated wrong in my post]).

so the question is how do I reach the container from the outside world (in my current case that would be the my offices internal network)

If I understand you correctly, you are running an LXD container with nginx (port 80). Is the container network using a bridged or macvlan interface (lxc config show )?

Sounds like you simply need some NAT run on the LXD server to port-forward all port-80 requests to your container. If so, look at this page: https://github.com/lxc/lxd/issues/591