How to check lxd container size and how much space they are tacking

i am new to lxd , can any one help how to check lxc container size and how much space they are taking , i created a lxd container when i am trying to install few packages in it , its giving error that no space available.

1 Like

First of all, there is no integrated way to check how much space containers are taking. I think that the reason is that developers want to commit only to solutions that are giving exact results that can’t be contested. However, disk space calculation has no exact answer for modern storage systems (think to wasted space due to block size, disk deduplication for example)
So the best answer may depend on your storage system. Also the lxd version matters.
This said, for lxd 3.12 (snap version) and the default storage, I use:

sudo nsenter -t $(pgrep daemon.start) -m – du -m -d 2 /var/snap/lxd/common/lxd/storage-pools/default

it’s a bit slow and certainly not ‘exact’ but I have no need for more. For LTS LXD version (not snap) you can drop the nsenter stuff and have to change the path for the storage.

Hi!

When you first setup LXD, you assign some space for all the containers. This space is called a storage pool. Here is mine. The storage pool is called (in my case) lxd, I am using the zfs storage driver and I have 51 containers in total.

$ lxc storage list
+------+-------------+--------+--------+---------+
| NAME | DESCRIPTION | DRIVER | SOURCE | USED BY |
| lxd  |             | zfs    | lxd    | 51      |

Let’s see some more details about this storage pool. We run lxc storage info with the name of the storage pool (in my case, lxd). It shows the total space that my containers are using (around 45GB), and also the total space that I have dedicated for the storage pool (around 215GB).

$ lxc storage info lxd
info:
  description: ""
  driver: zfs
  name: lxd
  space used: 45.20GB
  total space: 215.88GB
used by:
  containers: