I need help to connect to remote lxd api

I am a total newbie in the world of LXC/LXD and I find it so hard to understand how I can interact with lxd REST API which is installed on a remote server

From what I understood, I installed lxd on both client and remote server

I copied the client.crt file from the client and I paste it in the server

then I run a command in the server to trust that certificate I just pasted (lxd config trust add the_client_certificate.crt)

Now, in the client I added the remote server using: lxc remote add … which works fine

Hopefully I did things correctly so far, the challenging part is how to start making requests from the client to the server

I can find very few examples that shows a curl request that involve sending the client.crt and client.key within the request like this:

curl -k -s --cert ~/.config/lxc/client.crt --key ~/.config/lxc/client.key https://{SOME_REMOTE_IP}:8443

and somewhere I found this https://github.com/lxc/lxd/issues/2119#issuecomment-226321939 which tells to send only the client certificate not the key (which makes me confused), here is the quote:

You should only pass the certificate, not the private key.

Also, your private key is now on the internet so you probably should have it re-generated…

1. should I send both the client certificate + client key (of the client machine) within each request to the remote server API ? or just the client certificate ?

2. is it sufficient to rely on those certificates generated by lxd on the server and the client to make secure requests? or should I add somehow an ssl certificate to the server?

3. here is an example of what I tried to make a request with ruby

require 'rest-client'

client_key = OpenSSL::PKey.read(File.read('/root/snap/lxd/common/config/client.key'))
client_cert = OpenSSL::X509::Certificate.new(File.read('/root/snap/lxd/common/config/client.crt'))

response = RestClient::Request.execute(
  method: :get,
  url: "https://181.142.34.205:8443",