Linux for Tegra (L4T) networking issues

Hey Forum – this feels like a basic question with a basic networking answer that I ought to be able to find with google, but I’ve so far struck out.

I’m running Linux for Tegra (based on Ubuntu 18.04) on an NVIDIA Jetson TX2. I’m trying to make use of LXD containers for a few topics and am struggling with networking. Here’s my setup steps:

sudo snap install lxd
sudo lxd init
[accept the defaults for all values]
lxc launch ubuntu:18.04 test
lxc ls

The output of lxc ls shows that my container has no IP address. If I get a shell via lxc exec test bash I’m unable to ping due to ping: socket: operation not permitted.

I can get around this by making the container privileged via lxc config set test security.privileged true and lxc restart test – now I get IP addresses and can ping.

I’m curious why this is – I’m new to LXD but have been using it extensively on Ubuntu 18.04/20.04 and have never needed to run a container as privileged before. Furthermore I’m having some other issues running snapcraft which I fear might be related.

Can you show output of the following commands please:

lxc network ls
lxc network show lxdbr0
lxc config show test --expanded
$ lxc network ls
+--------+----------+---------+-------------+---------+
|  NAME  |   TYPE   | MANAGED | DESCRIPTION | USED BY |
| eth0   | physical | NO      |             | 0       |
| l4tbr0 | bridge   | NO      |             | 0       |
| lxdbr0 | bridge   | YES     |             | 3       |
| rndis0 | physical | NO      |             | 0       |
| usb0   | physical | NO      |             | 0       |
| wlan0  | physical | NO      |             | 0       |
$ lxc network show lxdbr0
config:
  ipv4.address: 10.26.226.1/24
  ipv4.nat: "true"
  ipv6.address: none
description: ""
name: lxdbr0
type: bridge
used_by:
- /1.0/instances/novel-amoeba
- /1.0/instances/snapbuilder
- /1.0/instances/snapcraft-pds
- /1.0/instances/test
managed: true
locations:
- none