LXD 3 not launching on ZFS dataset

I’m really stuck here and hoping someone can help me out as I’m new to LXD and probably missing something blindingly obvious!

I’ve managed to build myself a shiny new Ubuntu 18.04-LTS system using ZFS on LUKS for the root filesystem but when I try to ‘lxc launch’ something it just downloads the image and then fails.

I configured LXD INIT to use a ZFS dataset (rather than a new pool) called rpool/lxd, which it duly created:

# zfs list

NAME                                                                                USED  AVAIL  REFER  MOUNTPOINT
rpool                                                                              2.62G  7.65T   140K  /
rpool/ROOT                                                                         2.05G  7.65T   140K  none
rpool/ROOT/ubuntu                                                                  2.05G  2.95G  1.81G  /
rpool/home                                                                         18.7M  4.98G  18.4M  /home
rpool/home/root                                                                     273K  4.98G   273K  /root
rpool/lxd                                                                           441M   500G   140K  none
rpool/lxd/containers                                                               11.7M   500G   140K  none
rpool/lxd/custom                                                                    140K   500G   140K  none
rpool/lxd/deleted                                                                   140K   500G   140K  none
rpool/lxd/images                                                                    429M   500G   140K  none
rpool/lxd/snapshots                                                                 140K   500G   140K  none
rpool/var                                                                           117M  4.89G   140K  /var