LXD storage questions (running on Oracle Cloud)

I used to run my home and remote servers running mostly on docker. Recently I decided to learn more about virtualization and containers.

I transitioned my home server to proxmox 7.2. My remote servers are running on Oracle Cloud free tier which I’m currently studying. I have 2 instances with 1 core, 1GB or RAM and x86_64 architecture. The third instance has 4 cores, 24GB of RAM and arm64 architecture. Each of these 3 servers has ubuntu 22.04 on boot volumes of 47GB each. I also have 59GB of block storage which I can attach to all of them, but have not yet configured. Oracle free tier also allows me to have 2 autonomous databases and a load balancer.

My current project is to have the two x86 instances running OpenLiteSpeed for Wordpress websites with HA using the shared block storage, the autonomous databases and the load balancer which they provide. The arm instance will run a few personal services and provide public access to my home server services.

For organization purposes, I decided to run everything on the remote instances on lxd, which I’m studying as well. I set up an lxd cluster with the 3 oracle instances, but I was left with a few questions, mostly related to how to organize storage.

On local loop storage:

On proxmox, it’s clear what each storage device will store since I set that up. I still couldn’t figure out what will be stored on the local loop device which is created with lxd init. Since each oracle cloud instance will be mostly just running lxd, I created these loop devices with 25GB each. But I saw no information online on how to plan for this.

Is there any recommended guideline on how to set the local storage size?

Can anyone recommend me how to set my local storage size?

On shared block storage