"Not supported" permission error when using Fuse+Docker inside unprivileged container

I am new to LXD and I am experiencing a problem that is too complex for my level of knowledge to even know where to start looking for a solution.

On a Fedora Server host, I run an unprivileged Fedora Server LXD container. Inside that container, I have Docker running. The docker storage (/var/lib/docker) is encrypted using gocryptfs. The problem that I’m experiencing is that inside Docker containers, root trying to access files that are owned by another user fails with a “Not supported” error.

On the host system I have root:1000000:1001000000 in both /etc/subuid and /etc/subuid, in case this has anything to do with it.

To reproduce the problem, create an LXD container running a docker container with encrypted storage like this:

lxc launch images:fedora/35 test
lxc exec test bash

Then inside the container:

# Install docker and gocryptfs
dnf -y install dnf-plugins-core
dnf config-manager --add-repo https://download.docker.com/linux/fedora/docker-ce.repo
dnf -y install docker-ce docker-ce-cli containerd.io gocryptfs

# Set up encrypted docker storage
mkdir -p /var/lib/docker.enc /var/lib/docker
gocryptfs -init /var/lib/docker.enc
gocryptfs -allow_other /var/lib/docker.enc /var/lib/docker

# Run docker container
systemctl start docker
docker run --rm -ti alpine sh

Then inside the Docker container:

touch test
cat test # Works
chown nobody:nobody test
cat test # Fails

There are some things that I find curious about this:

• Doing the same thing outside of the Docker container, but on the encrypted file system, does not yield the error.
  • Doing the same thing inside the Docker container, but with the Docker storage not being encrypted, does not yield the error.
  • Doing the same thing inside the Docker container, but with the LXD container running in privileged mode, does not yield the error.
  • Using encfs instead of gocryptfs yields the same error.