Placing containers in vlans with gvrp

I’m fairly new to lxd and so it’s possible that I am missing something obvious here. If so, my apologies and I would very much appreciate any points.

The Setup

I have a number of Raspberry Pi 3s and 4s running Ubuntu 20.10 (mix of 64 and 32 bit) attached to a VLAN-capable hardware switch.
Each Pi is member of a single lxd cluster, using a dedicated VLAN interface for clustering (i.e. each Pi has an eth0 in the default VLAN with a DHCP-provided IP and a vlan2 interface in VLAN 2 with a hard-coded IP from 10.0.0.0/24).

The Plan

I would like to be able to launch lxc containers on any host through lxd clustering with sets of these containers being placed in dedicated VLANs so as to create a number of isolated networking environments for them.

For example, I might have containers foo, bar and baz running on pi1 and pi2 sharing VLAN ID 5 and at the same time also have containers bam and bat, running on pi2 and pi3 sharing a separate VLAN 6:

container lxd host vlan id
foo pi1 5
bar pi1 5
baz pi2 5
bam pi2 6
bat pi3 6

The whole setup should be automated and reproducible.

What I’ve done so far

I’ve tried to avoid using an overlay network because of the added complexity and because I figure VLANs should be capable of providing what I need.

I have managed to achieve the desired setup by creating a dedicated network interface on the host and then attaching it to each container:

ubuntu@pi2$ sudo ip link add link eth0 lxdvlan5 type lan id 5 gvrp on # gvrp so that pi advertises the new vlan id to the switch

ubuntu@pi2$ sudo link set dev lxdvlan5 up

ubuntu@pi2$  lxc init --target pi2 ubuntu:20.04 vlantestubuntu
ubuntu@pi2$ lxc config device add vlantestubuntu lxdvlan5 nic nictype=physical parent=lxdvlan5 name=eth0
ubuntu@pi2$ lxc start vlantestubuntu

This works:

• Each container created in this way will have an eth0 that is in the correct VLAN
  • The host does not see these interfaces while the containers are running