Project is inherited in all SSH connections - Bug or feature?

When using LXD I usually open several ssh connections in order to work inside different containers at the same time, like an HAProxy container, a WP container and a MySQL container.

Today I started playing with lxd projects for the first time and I immediately noticed that new ssh connections inherit the current project, making it very awkward (at least in my scenario) because HAProxy leaves in the default project, WP lives in the client’s project and mysql lives in the DB project, hence each time I want to SSH to the host and exec a container I get an error, bacause I am “jailed” within the last used project.

Easy enough to fix, just switch to the other project… yes, but then when I go back to the other SSH window to work back on the WP container, the project has been changed too for the other window, and so on and so forth… you get the idea…

Simple method to see what I’m talking about:

Open an SSH connection to your host
Create a new project
Switch to the new project and create a new container on the new project
Open a second SSH connection
Run lxc ls
The second connection will show containers of the new project (expected was lxc would list the containers on the default project)
Now switch to the default project on your second ssh connection.
lxc ls will list all the containers in the default project.
Now go back to your initial SSH connection and run lxc ls, the containers on the default project will be listed, even if that connection was supposed to be on the new project.

I’m really enjoying this new feature!

Here are some ideas:

• I’m missing a command to show the current project I’m “jailed in”
  • I think a command to list all containers in any given project or in all projects of a host would also be great, in which case a new column could be added to lxc list to show the project a container is in (just like it tells you the node of a cluster a container is in)