Publicly Available Containers via Ubuntu 18.04 -- individual website containers

First off, let me start by saying I am no expert in server talk. I’ve been teaching myself as I go along, and I really only know entry level basics to server management.

I am trying to consolidate all of my many single instance VPS’s and put them into a single VPS with managed containers that hold their own privileged root access (in container).

Each VPS I currently have runs a simple stack for serving WordPress.

• Ubuntu 18.04 LTS
  • PHP/7.2
  • MySQL
  • Caddy HTTPS/2 server engine

My current VPS is $5 a month and comes with:

• 01GB RAM
  • 25GB SSD (I only need under 10GB)
  • 01vCore
  • 01TB Bandwidth (I do not touch this, my site pages are small under ~0.8 mb for dense pages and low traffic)

For me, these resources are great. But running close to 10 websites is around 55$ a month (Vultr) . Instead, I would like to try out a service (SSD Nodes) that is offering these specs/price:

• 16GB RAM
  • 80GB SSD
  • 04 vCores
  • 8.0TB Bandwidth
  • 40GB I/O

The price for this service varies but is usually under $15 a month if you pay up-front, which I wouldn’t mind doing.

I would use this single VPS to run Ubuntu 18.04 and then use LXD/LXC to provision containers that can then house each website individually.

Each container can then be limited to whatever resources I would like (within the single VPS limits). This would save me money, allow me room for more websites/projects down the road, and create a more manageable interface for maintenance.

Here’s a sample overview of what I’d like to accomplish.

• Host Machine ----> Ubuntu 18.04

• [container01] ----> WordPress Site A

• [container02] ----> WordPress Site B

• [container03] ----> WordPress Site C

• [container04] ----> WordPress Site D

• And a

• [snapshot of clean stack install for easy resetting/re-deployment]