Seeking for advices to build a serious LXD host

Hello everyone,

I’ve been experimenting with LXD in my home server for about two months and I’m happy with it. Currently, my LXD host is Ubuntu 18.04 with everything installed in a single HDD (with LUKS encrypted). Now I’m thinking about serious hardware upgrade and probably gonna replace HDD by SSDs. Here is what i want to achieve:

1) Native ZFS format on a separate drive, just for LXD storage pool
I’m aware of benefits ZFS brings. Having a separate, small SSD just for OS install would grant me flexibility for future upgrade of OS/LXD. However I don’t know what is the best and safest way to do it. Would you use that separate drive just for the block device (when running lxd init)? Or would you mount this drive as entire /var/lib/lxd?
Here is what @brauner suggested :

mount --bind /dev/sdb /var/lib/lxd

But on the other hand, LXC 2.0 documentation says we shouldn’t do that:

ZFS doesn’t have to (and shouldn’t be) mounted on /var/lib/lxd

So at this point i’m pretty clueless about what to do. In the scenario that I re-install OS or change the OS drive, I want to be able to easily get everything up and running again.

2) Redundancy with security
With 2 drives just for ZFS pool, I want to have mirrored vdevs in 1x2 configuration which is similar to RAID1 as lots of suggestion I found on internet. And it should be encrypted.

There are two methods I could think of: ZFS on LUKS and native encryption on ZFS. Native encryption sound great but from information I’ve red, it’s very new and unproven. Also, the lengthy and hacky process for that doesn’t look user-friendly at all. That guide also requires user to compile from source code because current Ubuntu zfsutils-linux package won’t support that feature until version 0.8.0.

So my question is what would you do for a production system?