Templates are applied again after move to another server

moving an instance between lxd servers, the templates of the image are applied again, i.e. for most images the hostname gets changed, some also overwrite the network settings.

is there any way to disable that during move?

You can do lxc config unset NAME volatile.apply_template on the instance after copy.

1 Like

Alternatively, you can edit the list of templates and when they get applied through lxc config metadata edit which will let you change it once and for all on your instance.

1 Like