Using Docker with Incus

I am writting/learning/looking for some documentation about Incus and its interactions with Docker. For example working with ZFS, BTRFS etc. Does anyone have relevant info on these topics? I did find some info on the documentation and previous treads. By all means please correct anything I state here as I am still learning.

Docker running along and Incus host

Docker inside a LXC container

– I am not sure if this information is still relevant but using docker in a container with VFS will run but can cause slowness and waste of resources due to dockers layering nature.
– Due to container`s unpriviledged nature cannot run as root.

---- Required to run inside a LXC ----

• incus config set security.nesting true
  • security.syscalls.intercept.mknod=true
  • security.syscalls.intercept.setxattr=true
    — with Zfs —
  • (For ZFS) zfs.delegate=true

Docker running inside an LXD VM

– As per documentation here Btrfs - btrfs - Incus documentation
Avoid running docker in a vm with BTRFS.
– Runs like a normal VM once configured properly. Has access to all modules and root.

I did this recently.

Awesome thanks, noted. I was not aware of the zfs.delegate=true, maybe thats affecting me at the moment. I am also struggling with should I install docker alongside the host to run services that require root access? I wanted to keep my host very plain but I ran into trouble running homepage as root so made me question myself. I also considered running a normal VM and using that to host my dockers… so many options hehe.

You can do all of those. I am running a bunch of Docker containers inside LXC with that configuration. Works perfectly.

Was testing out the zfs delegation but it will not allow me.

luigi@HomeServer:~/incus_profiles$ incus storage volume set storage MyZpool/Docker zfs.delegate=true
Error: Snapshots are read-only and can't have their configuration changed

incus storage ls