LXD with OVN, Nginx Reverse Proxy working, but

I spent several head scratching months working out how best to meet my goals. Forewarning, I can be dense, if I break out the big crayons when explaining something it’s because I confidently don’t understand it. If I gloss over something, it’s because I don’t even understand how I don’t understand it, lol. Please note that I am self-taught in several IT areas, check out my profile for details if that matters to your responses.

Goals

I want to be able to self host several vlan capable subnets from a single IP; then cluster multiple like devices from one or more IPs … and I eventually landed on LXD due to it’s capabilities as they related to my goals.

Spoiler: thus far everything works, with one peculiarity, hence this post.

Capabilities

• LXD can host vlan capable subnets from a single IP via OVN;
  • LXD can cluster which is made more attractive with MicroCloud; but waiting on OVN integration.
  • LXD project’s can have their own OVN network; this is a very attractive feature.
  • LXD purports to work with JuJu; I imagine the developers wouldn’t lie about this, right…

@stgraber and team, you all are making a great product.

Controls

• Host: Ubuntu 22.04, LXD 5.9
  • Containers: Ubuntu 22.04
  • Network: IPV4 only, bridge, uplink pointing back to the bridge (@tomp advised in some random post), ovn subnets. vlan capability is untested.
  • Applications: neovim, nginx, ufw

Implementation