Multiple newbie questions

Hello! I’m a newbie to LXC and after a few weeks of google’ing and playing with containers have a few questions to fill in some knowledge gaps. I apologize in advance as they are probably very basic, I’ve been unable to find a solid answer in my searching.

Questions:

1. I want to assign a public and private IP to each container and give them inbound/outbound net access. Should I use a bridge or macvlan? I’ve seen that bridges look to be more common (bonus: I’d like to provide basic firewall support from the host to block inbound traffic on specific ports to containers)

2. My understanding it’s more secure to run unprivileged containers with security.idmap.isolated=true?

3. Running security.idmap.isolated=true would give each container 65536 UIDs? Would I still be able to run a decent amount of containers per host? (My understanding via https://ubuntu.com/blog/custom-user-mappings-in-lxd-containers says yes, but wanted to confirm)

4. Security wise: is it acceptable to run containers (with the above security settings) with untrusted code? If someone was able to break out of the container, they’d effectively be running as a nobody user with a unique UID so they wouldn’t be able to access any resources or cause damage?

5. Would an unprivileged container be able to run a full “LAMP” stack (i.e. DB, web server, php/node/ruby, redis, etc)?

6. Resource quotas/limits work for CPU/Memory/Disk usage, but disk IOs/MBs is not yet supported?

7. Software wise, is the kernel the only thing shared between the host and a container? If I update libs/dependancies on the host will it affect the container’s libs/dependancies for packages? (I’ll be running Ubuntu as host and different flavors of supported linux distros as guests)

8. This article (https://www.zdnet.com/article/canonical-claims-lxd-crushes-kvm/) states that:
    If, however, your VMs are running many different software programs, KVM would be a better choice.