Network unreachable from containers with fresh incus install

Hello, relative newbie here. I’ve been using LXD under an Ubuntu Server host (which is itself a VirtualBox VM on a Windows 11 machine) for about a year now, but that was mostly due to issues I had with a specific VirtualBox/Fedora version pair. Those issues have since been resolved, and with LXD now being Ubuntu-centric, I’m in the process of migrating to Incus on Fedora Server 39.

I’ll briefly mention that I installed Incus from the COPR. I doubt this has much to do with my networking issue, but while following this page, I did need to run the following commands before Incus could successfully start containers:

# echo "root:1000000:1000000000" >> /etc/subuid
# echo "root:1000000:1000000000" >> /etc/subgid

That brings me to my issue, which is that my containers don’t seem to have external network access:

dboeger@localhost:~$ incus list
+-------------------+---------+------+-----------------------------------------------+-----------+-----------+
|       NAME        |  STATE  | IPV4 |                     IPV6                      |   TYPE    | SNAPSHOTS |
+-------------------+---------+------+-----------------------------------------------+-----------+-----------+
| cheerful-polliwog | RUNNING |      | fd42:4aa9:2dd5:891d:216:3eff:fe9f:a7a2 (eth0) | CONTAINER | 0         |
dboeger@localhost:~$ incus exec cheerful-polliwog -- ping -C 3 8.8.8.8
ping: connect: Network is unreachable

I vaguely remember having a similar issue when setting up LXD a year ago. I did some searching for old topics and found what I thought was the solution back then, which is to tell LXD (now Incus) not to set firewall rules:

incus network set <network_bridge> ipv6.firewall false
incus network set <network_bridge> ipv4.firewall false