Puppet Bolt LXD transport

I am working on an LXD transport plugin for the Puppet Bolt config management tool.

Draft PR is here https://github.com/puppetlabs/bolt/pull/2335

Warning: I am not a Ruby programmer. I merely am a fan of Puppet Bolt and LXD, and I think the concept of “system containers” benefits from a configuration management solution.

What a Bolt transport plugin allows is exposing the full range of bolt features in a way that feels like orchestrating VMs over SSH. Features that bolt provides:

1. remote command execution bolt command run -t $TARGET 'sudo /tmp/foo.sh
  2. upload and download files
  3. install packages
  4. orchestrate all of the above in ‘plans’ composed of granular ‘tasks’

The reason I think bolt is a good fit for LXD containers:

• Named “targets” in bolt map nicely to instances in lxd.
  • The UID/GID configurations for lxc file push, and lxc exec, have analogues in bolt file upload and bolt command run

This is going to take me a while, because I am bad at Ruby. But if you use Puppet Bolt, follow the PR. I will try to remember to post an update here when it’s ready.

2 Likes

The associated github issue: https://github.com/puppetlabs/bolt/issues/2311

1 Like

Continuing work on this. Some Puppet Labs employees say they’ll give this a review in the new year.

1 Like

If you are adventurous, and have some familiarity with ruby + bundler, and bolt, you can try this.

git clone git@github.com:dontlaugh/bolt.git
cd bolt
git checkout 2311_lxd_transport
bundle install
bundle binstubs bolt --path=~/bin  # if ~/bin is on your PATH

switch to your desired remote. (I will allow targeting multiple remotes from inventory at some point).

Example bolt inventory with some container targets, configured with lxd transport, under a single group

# my remote is called "infra"
targets:
  # containers
  - name: cli
    uri: infra
  - name: edge
  - name: gm-control
  - name: gm-control-api
  - name: svc

groups:
  - name: containers
    config: